[Skip to Content]

This award commemorates the service of the first president of the Federation, Charles Alvin Emerson, who served from 1928 to 1941, and was its first honorary member. This award is presented to an individual member of the Water Environment Federation whose contributions to the water environment profession most deserve recognition.

Criteria (contributions in either or both Criteria i and ii will be considered):

i. Contributions to promoting and/or improving the standards of our industry through (as examples):
    a. Developing standards of practice
    b. Research 
    c. Teaching/Training
    d. Publications/books/papers/presentations
    e. Professional accomplishments
ii. Contributions to supporting our profession through 
    (as examples):
    a. Leadership in WEF and/or Member Associations
    b. Leadership in developing conferences/workshops, etc.
    c. Membership recruitment
iii. Member of Water Environment Federation


  • Nomination Form
  • One page biography of nominee
  • Specific reasons for nomination (three pages maximum, and should follow the above criteria)
  • Any other supporting material required under criteria or that you feel would be helpful in the selection process

Nominations accepted from:

  • WEF Members
  • WEF Member Associations
  • WEF Committees

Nominations deadline:

A final copy of your nomination must be received by April 1.

Click here to nominate!